logouniverseel1 welcometotheworld m1 m2
m5
m6 taalpools

01/09/2017

Van Hool builds 8 hydrogen-powered tram-buses for Pau (France)

Koningshooikt – Van Hool, the independent Belgian bus, coach and industrial vehicle manufacturer has won a contract in Pau, France, to supply 8 Exqui.Cities, known as "tram-buses", powered by hydrogen. The use of hydrogen buses is not only a first for France it is also a world first for a full BRT (Bus Rapid Transit) system with 18-metre-long articulated tram-buses. This is the first time that hydrogen technology has been integrated as a power source in a tram-bus. The brand new vehicle is an 18.62 metre-long articulated tram-bus with a 125 passenger capacity and an autonomy of around 300 km. The order of 8 Exqui.Cities will be delivered to the SMTU-PPP (Syndicat Mixte de Transports urbains – Pau Portes des Pyrénées) and the STAP (Société de Transport de l’Agglomération Paloise) in the second half of 2019.

The bus's power source is an electric hybrid. On the one hand hydrogen (H2) and oxygen (O2) are converted to electricity in the fuel cell using electrolysis in "real time" and, on the other hand, the lithium batteries and electric motors provide additional power wherever and whenever it is needed. The energy that is released when the vehicle's brakes are applied is also re-used. The use of this technology results in the 0-emission of greenhouse gases or air polluting substances. The vehicle's only emission is water vapour.

Additional advantages offered by hydrogen buses include their autonomy of over three hundred kilometres and fast re-fuelling (10 minutes). These buses therefore allow bus companies to reach the highest level of operational flexibility and productivity.

Furthermore, tram-buses are characterised by a high level of passenger comfort, safety and information, and a high-frequency service. Because the vehicle is driven predominantly in its own lane, commercial speed is optimised. The tram-bus is an effective and less expensive alternative to tram, which requires greater investment in terms of equipment and infrastructure.

For Filip Van Hool, CEO of Van Hool, this is a significant development for the company: "Van Hool is looking forward to applying its extensive experience in the field of hydrogen-powered vehicles to the new tram-bus system in Pau. This is a challenge we are extremely happy to take on in Koningshookt. We have the necessary experience and confidence to make this project a success.

Firstly, Van Hool has already commercialised over 50 hydrogen-powered vehicles (32 in Europe and 21 in North America) and secondly, we have introduced around 200 tram-buses to 13 European countries and Martinique. The unique combination of a tram-bus with a hydrogen power source, is undoubtedly a new milestone in modern, ecological public transport."

François Bayrou, Chairperson of the Communauté d'agglomération Pau Béarn Pyrénées stated: "The Pau Béarn Pyrenees Aglommeration made a conscious choice for a hydrogen-innovation which results in a "zero emissions" solution and an everyday mode of transport, such as a bus, is thereby evolving into an environmental project that will benefit people.”

Choosing this transport solution with no CO2 emissions or other air pollution (such as fine particles or nitrous oxides) has shown that it is possible to make environmentally-friendly choices that are in fact necessary within the context of the current energy transition, without compromising the service to public-transport users in Pau. This bus project is part of a proactive sustainable mobility policy, that will protect the environment and the natural surroundings in Pau and its suburbs. The tram-bus project in Pau is therefore the driving force behind a new mobility, providing an improved and sustainable quality of life in the town, which will increase both its economic and residential appeal.

The 3Emotion project, which is the framework within which these hydrogen buses will be supplied, is financially supported by the EU through the FCH JU under subsidy agreement 633.174 and by a series of local governments.

Van Hool is an independent Belgian bus, coach and industrial vehicle manufacturer. The company, which was founded in 1947 is based in Koningshooikt. The majority of its production is destined for Europe and America. Van Hool has around 4,400 staff worldwide, the majority of which work in the production facilities in Koningshookt (Belgium) and in Skopje (Macedonia).

END

Editors, for more information, you can contact:

Dirk Snauwaert, Public Relations Manager at Van Hool,
Bernard Van Hoolstraat 58, 2500 Lier (Koningshooikt).
Tel.: +32 (0)3 420 22 12; Mobile: +32 (0)499 555 032;
e-mail: dirk.snauwaert@vanhool.be.
Website: www.vanhool.be
Website ExquiCity: www.exquicity.be

logouniverseel1 welkomindewereld305 m1 m2
m5
m6 taalpools

01/09/2017

Van Hool construit 8·tram-bus à hydrogène pour Pau (France)

Koningshooikt – Van Hool, le constructeur indépendant belge de bus, d’autocars et de véhicules industriels a conclu un contrat avec Pau, France, pour la livraison de 8·Exqui.City’s, ou ‘tram-bus’, propulsés à l’hydrogène. L’utilisation de bus à hydrogène est une première française et même mondiale pour un système BRT (Bus Rapid Transit) complet avec des bus-trams articulés de 18·mètres. Pour la première fois, la technologie à l’hydrogène est intégrée en tant que système de propulsion dans un tram-bus. Le tout nouveau véhicule est un tram-bus articulé de 18,62·m de long, ayant une capacité de 125·passagers et une autonomie de 300·km. La commande des 8·Exqui.City’s sera livrée au cours de la deuxième moitié de 2019 au SMTU-PPP (Syndicat Mixte de Transports urbains – Pau Portes des Pyrénées) et à la STAP (Société de Transport de l’Agglomération Paloise).

La propulsion du bus est électrique hybride. D’une part, l’hydrogène (H2) et l’oxygène (O2) sont transformés en électricité dans la pile à combustible, en temps réel et par électrolyse, et la seule émission en résultant se compose de vapeur d’eau. D’autre part, les batteries au lithium et les moteurs électriques offrent une propulsion supplémentaire où et quand cela se révèle nécessaire. L’énergie libérée lors du freinage du véhicule est également réutilisée. Cette technologie «·zéro émission·» n’émet aucun gaz à effet de serre ni polluant atmosphérique durant son utilisation. Le véhicule rejette uniquement de la vapeur d’eau.

D’autres avantages des bus à hydrogène sont leur autonomie de plus de trois cents kilomètres et le remplissage rapide du réservoir (10·minutes). De ce fait, ces véhicules atteignent le plus haut niveau de flexibilité opérationnelle et de productivité pour une société de bus.

En outre, les tram-bus sont caractérisés par un excellent niveau de confort, de sécurité et d’information du voyageur, ainsi qu’un taux de passage élevé. De plus, le véhicule roule principalement en site propre, ce qui optimise la vitesse commerciale. Le tram-bus est une option efficace et plus abordable que le tram, qui exige des investissements plus importants en termes d’équipement et d’infrastructure.

Pour Filip Van Hool, CEO chez Van Hool, il s’agit d’un développement significatif pour l’entreprise·: «·Van Hool se réjouit de pouvoir mettre à profit sa vaste expérience dans le domaine des véhicules propulsés à l’hydrogène pour le nouveau système de tram-bus de Pau. C’est un défi que nous relevons volontiers à Koningshooikt. Nous disposons de l’expérience et de la confiance nécessaires pour mener à bien ce projet important.

Premièrement, Van Hool a déjà commercialisé plus de 50·véhicules propulsés à l’hydrogène (32 en Europe et 21 en Amérique du Nord) et deuxièmement, nous avons introduit environ 200 bus-trams dans 13·pays européens et en Martinique. La combinaison unique d’un tram-bus et d’une propulsion à l’hydrogène est sans aucun doute un nouveau jalon pour les transports en commun modernes et écologiques.·»

François Bayrou, président de la Communauté d'agglomération Pau Béarn Pyrénées a déclaré·: «·L’agglomération Pau Béarn Pyrénées fait le choix de l’innovation hydrogène pour une solution « zéro émission » et transforme un mode de transport quotidien en un projet environnemental et humain.·»

Le choix de cette solution de transport sans émission de CO2 et sans émission de polluants (particules fines, oxydes d’azote…) démontre la possibilité de faire les choix environnementaux requis dans le cadre de la transition énergétique tout en offrant le meilleur service aux usagers des transports en commun de Pau. Ce projet de bus s’inscrit dans une politique volontariste de mobilité durable et de préservation de l’environnement et du cadre de vie des Palois. Le BHNS est ainsi le moteur d’une nouvelle mobilité mais également le vecteur d’une qualité de ville renforcée et durable, au service de l’attractivité économique et résidentielle.

Le projet 3Emotion, dans le cadre duquel ces bus à hydrogène ont été livrés, est soutenu financièrement par l’UE par le biais du FCH JU, en vertu de l’accord de subvention 633 174, et par une série d’autorités locales.

Van Hool est un constructeur belge indépendant de bus, d’autocars et de véhicules industriels. L’entreprise, fondée en 1947, est établie à Koningshooikt. La majeure partie de la production est destinée à l’Europe et à l’Amérique. Van Hool occupe 4·400 collaborateurs dans le monde, la plupart d’entre eux étant bien entendu employés sur les unités de production de Koningshooikt (Belgique) et de Skopje (Macédoine).

FIN

Pour obtenir davantage d’informations :

Dirk Snauwaert, responsable des relations publiques chez Van Hool,
Bernard Van Hoolstraat 58, 2500 Lier (Koningshooikt), Belgique.
Tél. : +32 (0)3 420 22 12 ; GSM : +32 (0)499 555 032 ;
e-mail :dirk.snauwaert@vanhool.be
Website: www.vanhool.be
Website Exqui.City: www.exquicity.be